Students win seven broadcast honors

By Amanda Alfanos, Editor-in-Chief

Eight students will take home awards for seven entries March 3 at the Oklahoma Broadcast Education Association’s student banquet day.

Entries were judged and critiqued Jan. 29 by local media professionals, the entry form reads. Guidelines required submissions to be completed in the 2010 academic year.

Andy Gibson, mass communications artist-in-residence, selected entries for submission and was notified of the honors.

“I couldn’t keep the good news to myself any longer,” he said in an e-mail to the winning students. “I’m so proud of all of you.”

First-place entries

— TV Hard News: Clancey Cleveland, first place: Police Taser
— Radio Sports Play by Play: Andrew Himes, first place: OCU vs. RSU
— TV Commercial: Lizzy Valles, first place: OCU is My School
— TV Music Video: Sonya Barrett & Amanda Alfanos, first place: Games We Play

Second-place entries

— TV Promotional Spot: Caleb Howard & Eric Waltman, second place: Hal’s Space Odyssey 2001

Third-place entries

— TV Documentary/Series: Virginia Fox, third place: Miss OCU
— TV PSA: Sonya Barrett, third place: Humane Society



  1. […] To see a list of the winners who will be honored at the OBEA banquet March 3, click here. […]

This site is protected by WP-CopyRightPro